rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Selling Life Insurance

Selling Life Insurance

So I did a search and couldn't find anything in this thread. When I get home in December I'm looking at getting started selling life insurance as an underwriter. However, I've never done sales before (as far as commission based) does anyone have a good starting point for learning, as in YouTube channels you really like or books that have knocked it out of the park for you? I'm looking for a good starting point and I want to make sure I'm getting good info.

Selling Life Insurance

Lookup Zig Ziglar's Secret of Closing the Sale. I use the lessons on the daily at work.

Selling Life Insurance

Underwriters don't sell insurance.

Selling Life Insurance

Underwriter price insurance, for brokers to sell. The brokers receive commission.

Underwriters are typically salaried.

Selling Life Insurance

That has to be a difficult job. Other insurance products might be easier to sell.

Selling Life Insurance

Get your Series 7 and 66 as soon as possible, get your signing bonus, close one good sale in your first month, then get out and go be an advisor for an RIA.

Selling Life Insurance

Life insurance is not a terribly easy product to sell, and the trailing commissions on them aren't that great.. a lot of life insurance producers end up living a very hand to mouth existence (although at a very high standard of living), and end up basically not building sustainable businesses.

For the same required skill set, and the same amount of effort, you might want to look at wealth management at Morgan Stanley, Merrill Lynch, Wells Fargo or Stifel. You can build a business there with recurring revenues and equity.