rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

How to get a tech job for a company that isn't so gynocentric?

I'm a fresh grad and I've been looking for jobs in quantitative finance and data science. In the last company I worked for that dealt with data, it just seemed so overly gynocentric and catered towards youngsters who still think like high schoolers. During orientation, we had to tell everyone things like our favorite disney movie, what movies and TV shows we've seen recently, how our high school prom went, talk about our facebook and instagram, and listen to pop songs played out loud in the office. I felt like the oddball because even though I'm also young, I'm not into modern pop culture as I can't stand the gynocentrism in movies these days, I haven't watched TV in years, I rarely use facebook, etc.

I just want to work somewhere where I put in my 40 hours/week and then can go home and have my own social life and do what I want, as opposed to broadcasting all of this to my coworkers and doing things like going to happy hours or shooting nerf guns with other manginas. Unlike most other fresh grads, I do not want to work at Facebook because of their culture. I was thinking I may fit in better at a larger company as opposed to startups. I do not find working at a table in an open-space where my coworkers can see everything I do on my computer appealing. I like some amount of privacy.

Anyone know which types of companies are best suited for red-pill guys like us? Would working in finance be better than tech companies and startups?

Finance is pretty good. Tech has a very PC reputation.