rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

The Tennis Thread

The Tennis Thread

I'm just getting into this sport and I already love it.

What kind of racquet do you use and which ones would you recommend for an beginner-level player?

How long have you been playing?

Tips on how to get better?

I play with my buddy now that the summer is here but I feel like my game is stagnant because we're at about the same level.

The Tennis Thread

Quote: (06-22-2016 02:37 PM)TigerMandingo Wrote:  

I'm just getting into this sport and I already love it.

What kind of racquet do you use and which ones would you recommend for an beginner-level player?

How long have you been playing?

Tips on how to get better?

I play with my buddy now that the summer is here but I feel like my game is stagnant because we're at about the same level.
I use this racquet and think it's great for beginners (easy to generate spin and light): https://www.amazon.co.uk/Graphene-Instin...d+instinct

Playing since I was four but stopped aged 10. Now been playing for about 5 years.

Best tip is to invest and get one on one coaching. Find a local Feldenkrais Method workshop to help with flexibility and agility, ease of movement is king, as we see with Novak and Roger.

Enjoy

Mark

The Tennis Thread

Work on your grip for backhand, forehand, serving, volleying, etc etc first and foremost.

Also, your stances are very important as well. You need to be balanced and have both feet on the ground so you're able to rotate your torso to generate power.

Identify your weaknesses as well.

You're a beginner so start with a light weight bracket.

A man is only as faithful as his options-Chris Rock

The Tennis Thread

Get private lessons at the beginning. Tennis is like golf or martial arts, you'll fuck it up if you try to teach yourself.