rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Surfing Thread

Surfing Thread

I want to begin this data sheet by stating that the best surfer out there is the one having the most fun.

Of all of the activities that I do, surfing is my favorite; it seems that I never tire of surfing….at least not yet. I have been surfing for about 4 decades and the last decade has been an endless summer. I will surf everyday if I can, from first light to twilight if the waves are pumping and my body can endure.

The feeling that you get when you catch a wave is called the stoke and it lasts a lifetime. It is the sensation that you get as you catch and carve up the wave and/or when you continue to have this feeling after you get home; it is being happy and thrilled at the same time. You dream about it even after decades. Physiologically it is what you feel after the adrenaline rush is gone and may be attributed to the negatively-charged ions given off by churned up water and sea spray, which can elevate serotonin levels. While surfing you experience elevated levels of adrenalin and dopamine. There is also a sense of peace and tranquility that I experience as I sit on his board while the sun warms my face and I gaze into the horizon. Today was no exception.

A friend once said, ¨surfing is not just something you do but something you are. I surf, therefore I am.¨