rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Back to BJJ after a month off, feel like sh*t!, thinking of hanging it up

What's up guys, I've been training BJJ for about 5 years.

Recently I took about a month off because I had a crazy skin rash from applying antiseptic cream to a fresh tattoo.

Anyway, during this month all I did was lift heavy, get plenty of sunshine, sleep, eat and fuck.

I felt like a million bucks the whole month.

Ridiculous sexual energy, great mood, slept like a baby, got a lot of work done.

This week I got back to BJJ and I intentionally rolled light for the first few days.

Still, I feel like I've been hit by a truck, my sleep got thrown off, and my libido feels a bit lower.

I'm no expert so I thought I'd appeal to the forum fitness heads: what's the deal here?

Cortisol?

The fact that you're essentially fighting every day and exhausting the fight/flight system?

Overtraining / too much cardio?

Etc?

Frankly, I couldn't ever imagine my life without grappling before.

But I feel so much better just lifting heavy, to the point where I'd consider giving it up.

Any thoughts, experiences? Please share.

I can understand where you're coming from.
Over the years i've had to take breaks from martial arts training.

Your body adapted to not needing to expend that much energy.
So it allocated the free energy to the other activities.
You should ease back on the weights and the all night fuck sessions for a month or so.
Also adjust your diet accordingly to make sure you are getting all the food you need to maintain this level of activity.
Cut back on cardio as well.

I recently took 3 months off BJJ for an injury. Got back on the mat last Friday.