rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

How to build a solid work ethic

I've been working with a small electrical contractor for a few months now and my job is fucking miserable. I've been digging trenches for a couple months now and it's making me realize how lazy I am. I was relatively spoiled for most of my childhood an my dad worked 6 days a week so I never had a great role model. I coasted through high school with mediocre grades, I never did well in anything that bored me and now that I'm out reality slapped me in the face. I just want to know how to become more motivated and stop wasting my time procrastinating.

Quote: (10-29-2014 04:52 PM)mmedeiros14 Wrote:  

my dad worked 6 days a week so I never had a great role model.

dad worked 6 days a week

never had a great role model

umm

Same. Except my dad moved overseas so I never got to see him. Incredibly successful but I never got to learn from his work.

Steps to Building A Solid Work Ethic:

1. Realize/accept that having a solid work ethic/grit/discipline will always put you head and shoulders above everybody else.

2. Get leverage. It's a nice idea in the moment to think "gee I really would like to have a good work ethic" but if it's only an idea it will never stay. It has to be a commitment for life, you always put time into something, and won't settle for less.

"I just want to know how to become more motivated and stop wasting my time procrastinating." - There is no fire under your ass. You don't have anything big you're working towards and have settled in with the sheep of our society who deem average to be ok. Find what you really care about and would crawl around in sewage to get to.