rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Keeping Secrets

Keeping Secrets

This is weird but I wanted to share it. I have a huge problem keeping secrets -- of my own.

When a friend tells me something is confidential I will hold it with me to the grave, but I seem to tell everyone everything about me, and I don't like it.

I have had some unbelievable life experiences and I sometimes think how nice it would be to just keep it all to myself, so that it was for me and me only; yet I find myself constantly story telling (it's one of my best skills). Maybe I like the power I have over people when I speak? Maybe I like making people laugh? Maybe I like sharing my happiness with others? Whatever the cause, I can barely keep any of my own personal happiness to myself. I want to become more selfish in this respect.

And worst, in tragic irony, here I am telling you this issue of mine that continues to irks me -- as I let another deeply personal thing go.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

Keeping Secrets

If they were really secrets (or secrets that matter) you probably wouldn't be telling them so easily in the first place. So I would just blame it on ego boost, storytelling, getting attention, etc.

Keeping Secrets

Hmmm, what kind of secrets?

I don't think keeping secrets is healthy anyway so getting them out of your system is probably a good thing in the long run.

One question you should ask yourself is: why do you have so many secrets? And are they really secrets if you tell everyone about them anyway? probably not IMO.

Keeping Secrets

I would argue that it depends on how you're sharing them.

Are you simply telling these stories to boost yourself up, (as an overt and forced display of high value)
or are people discovering how great you truly are on their own?