rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Actuary Career

Actuary Career

What do you guys think about it? I am now a software developer with 10 years of experience. With more and more outsourcing and the fact that I am less interested in picking up new technologies and keeping myself updated with the latest tech news, I am thinking of changing to actuary. I may need to complete a lot of exams which I have been working on.

Actuary Career

Actuarial science would be a solid niche to be a freelance writer in.

So another option would be to do the studying, say fuck all to the exams, and go location-independent with it, charging $100 an hour or more.

Would probably take some months to put together a full client list but doable if you positioned yourself correctly.

Just my two biased cents.

Beyond All Seas

"The individual has always had to struggle to keep from being overwhelmed by the tribe.
To be your own man is a hard business. If you try it, you'll be lonely often, and sometimes
frightened. But no price is too high to pay for the privilege of owning yourself." - Kipling

Actuary Career

I once looked into the field briefly. My only source on it was an internet forum (actuarial outpost?) and commenters were pretty bearish on the prospects of getting a job in the field, although internet people are often more bearish. They were saying that industries using actuaries were consolidating, diminishing demand for actuaries, and that companies were requiring you to pass several exams before they would hire you, instead of just 0 or 1.

Quote: (05-11-2014 10:27 AM)Beyond Borders Wrote:  

So another option would be to do the studying, say fuck all to the exams, and go location-independent with it, charging $100 an hour or more.