rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Silver as an investment?

Silver as an investment?

Silver at $19 an ounce right now, was as high as $48 about 3 years ago.

Anyone have a long term fundamental view?

It seems like institutional investors are getting out of gold and silver since the fall from all time highs and that the mainstream media are not hyping them anymore - might this be a good time to get in then?

Silver as an investment?

I've been buying silver since 2010. To me it's a bad investment because of all of the volatility, but I use it as a savings plan. I'm paranoid as fuck and I don't trust banks, so I keep my metal secure someplace that I can get to. With interests rate as low as they are you won't make money holding it in savings.

"Feminism is a trade union for ugly women"- Peregrine

Silver as an investment?

See the silver thread!

Our New Blog:

http://www.repstylez.com

Silver as an investment?

Silver doesn't really trade on a fundamental value (even though there are some industrial uses for silver, as opposed to gold, which has very, very few productive uses). One of the biggest mistakes investors make is using historical prices as a some sort of benchmark. Blackberry (formerly Research In Motion) was trading at over $100 per share two years ago. AIG, on a split-adjusted value, was trading at over $1000 in 2008.

There was a spike in commodity prices from 2010 to 2012 because people were convinced that the Fed's Quantitative Easing would cause massive inflation (increased demand for gold jewelry from China and India also had an effect, but to a lessor extent). Well, despite the conspiracy theorists at ZeroHedge, inflation has been very tame, and Europe still faces the threat of deflation. The Fed's QE policies increased the monetary base not the money supply.