rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Let`s talk franchise

Let`s talk franchise

As a student studying EE engineering, I realized that i don`t want to have the typical 9-5 60k/year job that`s waiting for me upon graduation.

I worked as a manager at a Domino`s Pizza a few years back, and if I recall correctly, here are some approximate figures for the particular store I worked at.

Location: Residential area with a few schools and big business nearby.
Cost to open a Domino`s Pizza: 300k + rent

Breakdown of the cost/year:
Total sales (after sales tax): 1 million
Labour cost: 35% or 350k
Food cost: 35% or 350k
Franchise fees: 8% or 80k
Rent,heating,electricity,internet,etc.: about 60k

Total cost: 1 million - 350k - 350k - 80k - 60k = 160k

So, my boss was making around 160k per year before tax, which is not bad at all considering it only takes 300-400k to open up a store.

However, keep in mind that these figures are for a very well managed store, as it`s very hard to keep your food and labour cost at below 75%

So, all of this got me thinking I should probably start planning on opening my own.

What do you guys think about starting franchises?

Let`s talk franchise

The spot is everything, I won't drive half an hour for a fastfood joint, yeah there are people who do that for MD or whatever. Only for a good restaurant I would.

Brought to you by Carl's Jr.

Let`s talk franchise

Franchise restaurant is better than a startup standalone restaurant, but day to day, I'd prefer office work to managing minimum wage employees and disagreeable customers.

In most of those franchise opportunities you're buying yourself a job. Maybe a job that pays better (and usually not on a per hour basis) but it's a job in most cases. And you can't really get over like a fat rat until you own multiple restaurants and hire competent management.