rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Weight training and flexibility

Is it just me, or does a heavy weight training regime decrease your flexibility? I'm very new to free weights and heavy lifting and started the Stronglifts 5x5 programme mid December. The squats especially are really causing me some overall stiffness. Walking like I'm 80 years old or something after a workout. Well, maybe not that bed, but in that direction. This hasn't been a problem with previous (machine) workout programs.

I'm sure this must be a relatively common problem. Has anyone here on the board had this problem and found a solution? Yoga? Advanced stretching? Or maybe something else.

Not sure what you mean. Are you talking about muscle soreness after you work out? If so that's normal. And it means you're doing it right.

Pain or loss of flexibility in your joints, however, is not good. That may be indicative of poor form.

[size=8pt]"For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.”[/size] [size=7pt] - Romans 8:18[/size]

Not really joints. Just feeling stiff overall. Like after you've overexerted yourself. Say the feeling you have the next day after you run 20 km, where you usually run 10 km.

I felt like this for the first 6 months after starting weight training

If I understand you right, you're feeling stiff after switching from a machine based program to a free weight program?

You're actually using different muscles now. Machines only exercise a certain range of muscles; that's why a lot of guys think free weights are better for you. Free weights hit the muscles the machines don't. So for some of your muscle groups you're basically like a dude who's never lifted before.