rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Learning Chinese

Learning Chinese

I'm looking for input from guys who already have taken this route and can shed some light on the hurdles involved, the best approach for learning quickly and effectively and what to expect after 6-12 months or so of grinding. I believe I'm gifted for languages as I never had any problem learning them, know a few and generally have fun while progressing too, however Chinese looks like a helluva more work compared to the languages (french and spanish) I know and I hope I'm not overestimating my abilities as I'll have little time for this and will have to squeeze it in my uni schedule.

Learning Chinese

I have no experience with Chinese, but I have been extensively learning Russian for about a year now after coming from a native English/college Spanish background.

Russian is like Chinese in that there is absolutely ZERO connection to English except for some similar words (of which there are probably virtually none in Chinese) and that it uses a different script (and Chinese seems a million times more extensive than Russian).

After learning on my own and faring decently as I also have a gift for learning languages, I decided to get a tutor. The tutor was the best thing I ever did for learning Russian. She gave me opportunity to converse with someone, as well as learn proper pronunciation and speech patterns, and colloquial expressions which are used much more frequently than a lot of "book" expressions. I am now able to speak relatively well, and have been talking to her friends/family via Skype in Russian.

I suggest doing some groundwork on your own to get a feel for the language, and then getting a tutor to help you reach a level where if you wanted to learn on your own, you could do it confidently.

Learning Chinese