rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Merchant Accounts / Online CC Processing

I started a new online business, and am searching for a Merchant Account. Wells Fargo's seems to be overpriced, Chase seems decent but then there are a lot of random companies I haven't heard of but are on Authorize.net's reseller list.

Searching for reviews on the web makes it even more difficult as it seems a lot of the review sites are spammed/paid sites to pump up the various resellers. Merchant Warehouse seems to come up a lot as positive but not sure if I can trust the reviews.

Anybody have any experiences with Merchant Accounts and online credit card processing? I'm new to this, prefer not to get ripped off....thanks in advance.

Most of the popular choices offer more of less the same product with comparative rates. A lot will depend on your volume, your credit rating and what kind of product you will be saying. Certain categories are considered higher risk than others which will effect the discount rate as well as your initial monthly volume cap.

Is there anything particularly wrong with paypal? I know nothing about this stuff, but would be interesting in getting some educated opinions.

Feel free to PM me for wine advice or other stuff
ROK Article: 5 Reasons To Have Wine On A Date
RVF Wine Thread

What platform are you using to sell? What's the average dollar amount of each transaction? Depending on your transaction volume, it may or not be beneficial to get a merchant account of your own. They all charge a monthly fee, as does Paypal Wesbsite Payment Pro.

If you are based in the US, and all your customers are in the US then Dwolla is probably the cheapest option.

https://www.dwolla.com/business

Stripe is another payment gateway that is gaining popularity. 2.9%, plus a 30 cent processing fees, no monthly charges.