rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

SLR Cameras

SLR Cameras

I've been toying with the idea of adding an dSLR to my collection of goodies. I've got no experience with photography, but with the traveling I do, I'm always tempted to upgrade the quality of the shots I take. I'm going to start off with a beginner SLR; by all accounts the Nikon D300 is a solid camera for those who are thinking of entering the world of more professional photography.

However, my question is more concerned with the threat of being robbed in 3rd world countries as a result of having a camera around my neck. Are there any traveling cats out there who take an SLR camera around with them when traveling? How do you go about protecting it from damage? From being stolen? If an SLR sounds like a stupid idea to drag around 3rd world countries are there any high quality point and shoots that are almost as good as an SLR without making you a target for theft?

SLR Cameras

Never had an issue. I see more and more people travel with the SLRs now.
Sometimes locals will look it up, I imagine the same way they'd look at a fancy watch. I've never had anything come of it.
What you should do is replace your neck strap so it's plain black, or sew some fabric covering the logos. I don't know about Nikon, but Canon's high-end lenses have a red ring around the barrel, definitely put tape over this, the ring says you're carrying $1000+ in your hand.
Maybe think about getting one used so you don't care if it gets stolen, a dslr from several years ago is still great, it won't do video though. It's all about the lens.
I switch out my memory cards every few days just in case something happens.
Also, I keep mine in my backpack, it's not constantly in view.

SLR Cameras